Préfecture de Police – Paris, France
Located on Île de la Cité and facing Notre-Dame Cathedral, the Préfecture de Police was originally named Caserne de la Cité, and housed the Guard of Paris. The entire barracks were built in four years, from 1863 to 1867, under the direction of architect Pierre-Victor Calliat in the Neo-Florentine style. The Préfecture took possession of the building in 1871, making it the home of the Paris Police Force and Emergency Services.
Restoration of this historical gem included sculptural works of war trophies, eagles and the emblem of the city of Paris.
Credit: John-Philippe Smith while at Atelier Bouvier
Client: City of Paris